Evo Grill Review – Is an Evo Flat Top Grill Worth the Money?

This page contains affiliate links, meaning I get a small commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you. Thank you, and welcome to OH!

Evo is one of the biggest names in the grilling business, and while their stunning flat top grills cost a pretty penny, they claim to be worth every cent. So, let’s find out whether Evo’s round grills and griddles are worth the price by reviewing all the most popular Evo flattops.

Evo grills may be expensive, but they could be worth the money if you want to avoid having to replace your grill every few years. Evo grills and griddles last much longer than others, look beautiful, and offer complete control over your cooktop.

Without further ado, let’s get into the Evo Grill review. After we discuss why Evo grills are so pricey, I’ll give you the details and compare all the drop-in and freestanding Evo flattop grill models.

Note: I’m only reviewing Evo’s outdoor grill models today.

Are Evo Grills Worth the Money?

evo-grill-review-comparison-best-outdoor-grill
Evo’s drop-in grills are some of the best-looking grills you can install in your outdoor kitchen, but they cost a small fortune!

I mean, wow, just wow! Have you ever seen a drop-in grill look better than that? Evo flat top grills are genuinely stunning, but when it comes to price, these things are not cheap… which raises the question: Are they worth buying?

Short answer – maybe. It depends on what you’re looking for.

Let’s imagine we want the absolute best. We want the top-of-the-range flat top griddle that will last us a lifetime and look ridiculously good in our outdoor kitchen.

Money is also no issue. We just want the best. In this case – do I recommend Evo Grills?

Heck yes! Splurge, fellow burger warrior, splurge!

Evo grills are worth the money if you want an exceptional quality, beautiful, and long-lasting grill that can do it all. You won’t find another grill that looks as good in a custom outdoor kitchen, and you most likely won’t find another grill with such exceptional heat control that has NO hot spots.

However, an Evo flat top grill might be overkill if you’re only an occasional griller with no desire for an aesthetically pleasing outdoor kitchen.

Evo Flattop Grills: The Cons

Before we explore all the (admittedly fantastic) benefits of Evo’s round flattop grills, let’s look at the cons.

Evo Grills are Very Expensive Compared to Lower-Tier Grills

While Evo’s round flattop grills are spectacular, there’s a big catch: the cost.

Look at the price on the Evo (I’m using one of its most popular models as an example, the Affinity 30G) compared to the similar Cuisinart CGG-888 Flat Top Gas Grill and Blackstone 1666 Flat Top Grill:

EVO Affinity 30G Series Built-in Grill
$4,765.50
  • 41 x 41 x 32 inches
  • 2 stainless steel gas tube burners allow for 1 or 2 temperature zones
  • 36,000 BTUs
  • ‎Natural Gas
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 11:03 am GMT
Cuisinart CGG-888 Flat Top Gas Grill
$279.00 $251.59
  • 40 x 22 x 44 inches
  • Two independently controlled burners allow you to control hot and cool zones on your griddle surface.
  • 30,000 BTUs
  • Gas
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 11:07 am GMT
Blackstone 1666 Flat Top Grill
$199.99 $184.99
  • 22.5 x 19 x 9 inches
  • Powered by two “H” style burners that ensure optimal heat distribution and even cooking.
  • 24,000 BTUs
  • Gas
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 11:12 am GMT

We could technically buy 27 Cuisinart flattop grills for every Evo Affinity 30G… and we could buy 30 Blackstone grills.

Blackstone’s grill (and Cuisinart’s, for that matter) has a crazy number of excellent reviews – if you click on the product above, you can read nearly 5,000 of them on Amazon. While both are economy options, they seem to get the job done with flying colors!

So, as savvy homesteaders, we must consider whether we can justify the cost of such an appliance as an Evo grill.

Evo Grill’s Limited Warranty

Potentially, if it offered a lifetime warranty, it could be worth it, especially if you got 17 years out of it. Is that realistic? That’s a darned long time to keep the same grill.

Although it sounds like they come with a limited lifetime warranty, reading the actual warranty description proves different (I think so, anyway). There’s a lot of tricky text there, but as far as I can tell, they only offer a 1-year warranty, and there are quite a few exceptions to this warranty.

That doesn’t sound so amazing compared to Cuisinart’s 3-year limited warranty.

One major thing Evo has going for it is Sam the Cooking Guy. Have you seen this guy?

I just watched him fry up a burger on his Evo with a bacon pattie on top – it’s incredible! Check him out:

Double pork burger bagels on the Evo Grill by Sam the Cooking Guy

One thing you’ll notice in the video is that it’s HUGE. That’s by far the biggest flat-top grilling surface I’ve seen.

The Affinity 30G offers a 30″ cooking diameter. That’s unreal! Cuisinart’s is 22 inches. Not to fret, though, they also have a 30″ model:

Top Pick
Cuisinart 30″ Round Flat Top Outdoor Griddle
$405.49 $361.59
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 06:06 pm GMT

This Cuisinart grill is about twice the price of the 22″ model. However, it’s still a tenth of the cost of the Evo.

Moving on…

Why Are Evo Grills So Expensive?

Now that we know precisely how pricey Evo Grills are, you’re probably wondering how Evo can justify charging such a pretty penny for a grill.

I mean, an Evo is just like the other grills, right? Well, not really.

Evo grills are so expensive because they are made from high-quality materials in the USA. Evo grills are top-of-the-line professional flat-top grills often used by high-end chefs since they are long-lasting, offer excellent temperature control, and are versatile.

So, without further ado, let’s look at the specific features that make Evo flat top grills so spectacular. In this review, I’ll focus on outdoor Evo flat top grills, but Evo also offers indoor grills.

Evo Grills Are Made To Last

The first thing that stands out with Evo grills is that they’re built to last a lifetime. Our grills last us a few years before they start to rust pretty badly, and we end up replacing them.

The Evo flat top grill is not like that. Instead, these grills are almost heirloom quality.

Some of the most notable and admirable features of Evo grills are that they are:

  • Designed and built in America to last a lifetime. Evo grills are made from the highest quality materials, and I’m not just saying that. With a heavy-gauge stainless steel construction and durable seasoned steel cooktops, this grill and all its parts are excellently crafted and will stand up to almost anything.
  • Professional quality. Many professional chefs prize Evo flat top grills and griddles, and they offer you everything you need to level-up your grill skills.
  • Made from a single piece of steel with a flanged edge. This design traps heat for the best performance.
  • Seasoned steel flattop cooking surface. All Evo griddles and grills come with pre-seasoned cooktops for a natural non-stick surface.
  • Hot-spot-free. Variable heat is a problem of the past with an Evo round flattop grill. You’ve got edge-to-edge even heat, ranging from 225°F to 550°F
  • Great grease management. All of Evo’s flattop grills have fantastic grease drains that empty into a cup for easy disposal.
  • Extremely stylish. A thing of beauty is a joy forever, and Evo sure knows how to make a grill look stunning while maintaining its practicality!

You Can Cook Anything on the Evo Flat Top Grill

An Evo grill can give you the ultimate versatility in outdoor cooking. You can seriously cook anything on the Evo flat top grill.

Cook a full breakfast with eggs, pancakes, and sausages. A full lunch of cheesesteaks and kebabs. Awesome dinners of tacos, fajitas, stir-fries… Or fry up a bacon pork bagel burger like Sam did above!

Have a look at this video; it shows you a whole lot of possibilities for meals cooked on an Evo Grill!

Unlimited possibilities on your Evo Grill, from breakfast to dessert to anything in between

Oh, and those nifty steel covers the chef uses in the video above are like these:

Great Accessory
2 Pack Heavy-duty Cheese Melting Dome Set
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

If all these features sound good to you, then it’s time to decide on a specific Evo grill model for your outdoor area!

Which one should you buy? Well, let’s find out:

Which Evo Grill Model Should You Buy?

Evo’s outdoor cooking grills come in drop-ins, tabletop, and cart models.

I’ll run through the Evo Grill models below, but here’s a quick and straightforward guide:

So, let’s take a closer look at each of these grills and see what each one has in store.

At first glance, Evo Grills models are confusing, so I’ve built a table for an overview:

Cart
  • Cooktop Size:
    30 Inches
  • Fuel Type:
    Natural Gas or Propane
  • Total BTUs:
    48,000
Tabletop
  • Cooktop Size:
    30 inches
  • Fuel Type:
    Natural Gas or Propane
  • Total BTUs:
    48,000
Small Drop-In Grill
  • Cooktop Size:
    25 inches
  • Fuel Type:
    Natural Gas or Propane
  • Total BTUs:
    28,000 BTUs (Natural Gas) or 31,600 BTUs (Propane)
Large Drop-In Grill
  • Cooktop Size:
    30 inches
  • Fuel Type:
    Natural Gas or Propane
  • Total BTUs:
    36,267 BTUs (Natural Gas) or 37,638 BTUs (Propane)
Cart
5.0
$4,495.50
Cooktop Size:
30 Inches
Fuel Type:
Natural Gas or Propane
Total BTUs:
48,000
Tabletop
5.0
$3,955.50
Cooktop Size:
30 inches
Fuel Type:
Natural Gas or Propane
Total BTUs:
48,000
Small Drop-In Grill
5.0
$4,225.50
Cooktop Size:
25 inches
Fuel Type:
Natural Gas or Propane
Total BTUs:
28,000 BTUs (Natural Gas) or 31,600 BTUs (Propane)
Large Drop-In Grill
5.0
$4,765.50
Cooktop Size:
30 inches
Fuel Type:
Natural Gas or Propane
Total BTUs:
36,267 BTUs (Natural Gas) or 37,638 BTUs (Propane)
11/28/2023 02:56 am GMT

The drop-ins include the Affinity 30G for large outdoor kitchens and the Affinity 25G for smaller outdoor kitchens. There’s not much difference between the two, but the 30G has a 30″ steel flattop cooking surface. The 25G has a 25″ cooking surface.

1. Best for Large Outdoor Kitchens: Evo Grill Affinity 30G

If you’re looking for a larger grill with a flat cooking surface, this is the pick for you!

The Evo Affinity 30G is a drop-in grill for large outdoor kitchens, and it comes out as the most popular and best Evo griddle in this review.

This round flattop grill comes in a natural gas and a propane model, so you can choose whichever works best for you.

The cooking surface is made of a single piece of steel with a flanged edge. That edge traps heat, which contributes to its excellent performance. Evo flat top grills come pre-seasoned for a natural non-stick surface.

You can cook straight on the non-stick surface, or you can use pots and pans on it like a traditional stovetop. The steel flat top has a 30″ diameter and is seasoned with black oil.

There are inner and outer gas tube burners that guarantee even heat across the flat plate. No hot spots!

You can adjust the heat of the inner and outer tubes independently, so you’ve got complete control over the temperature with separate knobs.

Temperates on the Evo Grill range from 225°F to 550°F from one edge to the other. The Affinity 30G is easy to start with electronic push-button ignition. Both burners light at the same time with one power button.

The Affinity 30G is a no-mess grill. It’s surrounded by a stainless steel drip pan and spillover trays, as well as a drip pan for when you’re having a huge cookout.

All Evo Grills look incredibly professional and stylish in your outdoor kitchen, have a look at a slideshow of the Affinity 30G here:

Evo Affinity 30G Specs

  • For large outdoor kitchens
  • Natural gas or propane
  • BTUs on propane: 37,638 BTUs of heat output
  • BTUs on natural gas: 36,267 BTUs of heat output
  • Seasoned steel cooking surface pre-seasoned with black oil
  • 30″ diameter cooking surface
  • Independent heat adjustment for inner and outer cooking zones
  • No hot spots, even heat distribution across the surface
  • Heat range 225°F to 550°F
  • Comes with a stainless steel lid
Evo Affinity 30G
EVO Affinity Built-in Grill Seasoned Steel Cooktop, Natural Gas
$4,765.50
  • 30 in. black seasoned steel flattop cooking surface
  • Provides ultimate versatility to grill, sear, toast, stir fry, sauté, steam, roast, smoke…
  • 707 sq. in. cooktop
  • 2 stainless steel gas tube burners allow for 1 or 2 temperature zones
  • Variable temperatures 225ºF to 550ºF
  • 36,000 BTUs
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 11:03 am GMT

2. Best for Small Outdoor Kitchens: Evo Flat Top Grill Affinity 25G

evo-grill-affinity-25g-outdoor-cooking
Look how incredible this grill looks! This guy is perfect for most outdoor kitchens.

The Evo Affinity 25G is your go-to flat top grill for smaller outdoor kitchens.

This Evo round flattop grill has a 25″ diameter cooking surface with the same steel pre-seasoned plate as the 30G. Except for the smaller size, it does everything the 30G does.

Evo Affinity 25G Specs

  • For small outdoor kitchens
  • Natural gas or propane
  • 36,000 BTUs
  • Seasoned steel cooking surface pre-seasoned with black oil
  • 25″ diameter cooking surface
  • Independent heat adjustment for inner and outer cooking zones
  • No hot spots, even heat distribution across the surface
  • Heat range 225°F to 550°F
  • Comes with a stainless steel lid
Evo Affinity 25G Built-In Flattop Grill
$4,225.50
  • 25 in. black seasoned steel flattop cooking surface
  • Provides ultimate versatility to grill, sear, toast, stir fry, sauté, steam, roast, smoke and bake
  • 491 sq. in. cooktop
  • 2 stainless steel gas tube burners allow for 1 or 2 temperature zones
  • Variable temperatures 225ºF to 525ºF
  • 28,000 BTUs
  • Electronic push button ignition
  • For outdoor use
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 03:06 pm GMT

3. Best Portable Grill: Evo Grill Professional Wheeled Cart

The Evo Grill Professional Wheeled Cart gives you a professional flattop grill to move around the patio or the backyard. It’s one of the newer Evo griddles on the market, and it has become very popular.

This Evo griddle is similar to the tabletop grill, but it sits on a solid steel frame with wheels. It has a rear handle to move it around quickly, which makes it easy for you to bring it in if you don’t have an outdoor kitchen or cooking area. For that reason, it’s my favorite grill included in this Evo review.

This portable, round flattop grill has an extraordinary 48,000 BTU output, which is more than the drop-in models! That makes it almost comparable with our beastie highest BTU burners!

Evo Grill Professional Wheeled Cart Specs

  • For portability around the patio and backyard
  • Natural gas or propane
  • 48,000 BTUs
  • Seasoned steel cooking surface pre-seasoned with black oil
  • 30″ diameter cooking surface
  • Independent heat adjustment for inner and outer cooking zones
  • No hot spots, even heat distribution across the surface
  • Heat range 225°F to 550°F
  • Rear handle for pushing or pulling.
  • Stainless steel sleeve to hide your gas tank.
  • Comes with a stainless steel lid
Evo Grill Cart
EVO Professional Series Grill on Cart
$4,995.00 $4,495.50
  • Natural gas grill on cart
  • Heavy-duty 304 stainless steel construction
  • Solid oil-seasoned cooking surface for restaurant quality results
  • Dual circular burners with inner and outer control knobs; One-touch electronic ignition
  • Overall size: 40 x 40 x 37 inches (W x D x H); Cooktop: 30-inch diameter
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/27/2023 09:46 am GMT

4. Best Portable Tabletop Grill: Evo Flat Top Grill Professional Tabletop

If you want a professional, high-quality round flattop grill that you can take on the road, this is the ultimate griddle for you.

You can move this Evo flattop griddle around from table to table or sit it on a bench. It’s perfect if you want a grill to bring with you on picnics, while camping, or as you’re visiting friends.

It’s a friend that’ll be welcome wherever you take it. Plus, this Evo flattop has a whopping BTU output of 48,000 BTUs, so you won’t lack power, even when you’re on the go.

Evo Professional Tabletop Flat Top Grill Specs

  • For tabletop use and taking with you; camping, picnics, the beach, a friend’s house, etc.
  • Natural gas or propane
  • 48,000 BTUs
  • Seasoned steel cooking surface pre-seasoned with black oil
  • 30″ diameter cooking surface
  • Independent heat adjustment for inner and outer cooking zones
  • No hot spots, even heat distribution across the surface
  • Heat range 225°F to 550°F
  • Comes with a heavy duty stainless steel lid
Evo Tabletop
EVO Professional Series Tabletop Gas Grill
$3,955.50
  • 30 in. black seasoned steel flattop cooking surface
  • Provides ultimate versatility to grill, sear, toast, stir fry, sauté, steam, roast, smoke…
  • 707 sq. in. cooktop
  • 2 stainless steel gas tube burners allow for 1 or 2 temperature zones
  • Variable temperatures 225ºF to 550ºF
  • 48,000 BTUs
Get More Info
PAID LINK – We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/28/2023 01:01 am GMT

Evo’s Flat Top Grills In Review: Premium Grill, Premium Price

Evo’s round flattop grills may be pricey, but they are made to be the first and last grill you’ll ever need to buy.

An Evo flattop griddle gives you even heat distribution, and you can cook anything on it. Plus, there are portable and drop-in models for any outdoor space.

The only issue is the price. And its limited lifetime warranty. If top quality is what you’re looking for, these could be the stuff of your dreams. If you’re looking for a good flat top at a great price, look at the other options from our article, Best Flat Top Grill Review (The 9 Best Grills of 2023).

For me, the price of an Evo round flattop griddle is hard to justify. Unless I had a business like Sam the Cooking Guy’s and this thing was going to make me money.

Which, I suppose, it does if you all buy a grill through my links. I get a small commission on each grill sold. Except, at the percentage I get, it would take approximately 2,321 years to earn the price of one.

Do you think it would last that long?

I hope our review helped you choose your Evo Grill! Which one’s your favorite, and are you using it for a custom outdoor kitchen or to take with you?

More On Grilling and Backyard Living:

Evo Grill Resources

Evo-grill-evo-flat-top-grill-which-one

Author

  • Elle Meager

    Elle, the founder and visionary behind Outdoor Happens, is a seasoned horticulturist with over 25 years of hands-on experience. She’s not just any gardener; she’s a plant whisperer who ran her own nursery specializing in edible plants and fruit trees. With 15 years in permaculture design, she’s transformed spaces from local schools to restaurants, promoting sustainable living and healthy eating.

    Her work has caught the eye of major media outlets like Bob Vila, NBC News, The Washington Post, and more. She’s a proud member of PINA, the Organic Farmer’s Association, and the American Horticultural Society. But she doesn’t just keep her wisdom stateside; she’s a global green thumb, having worked on organic farms from Spain to Australia, revitalizing lands and designing self-sustaining ecosystems.

    Whether it’s turning a depleted Spanish farm into a permaculture paradise or setting up a biodynamic farm in Holland, Elle’s mission is to make the world a greener, more sustainable place. She’s a qualified permaculture teacher with diplomas in horticulture and naturopathy, and her passions range from herbalism and fermentation to animal husbandry and beyond. Elle lives the life she preaches, residing on a farm teeming with vegetable gardens, food forests, cows, sheep, horses, and chickens.

Elle Meager Avatar

I’m the heart and soil behind Outdoor Happens. Dream of a garden that feeds you or a farm that practically runs itself? I’m here to help make that dream a reality. With 25 years of hands-on gardening and farming, I’ll share down-to-earth tips to help you grow your own slice of sustainable paradise.

Ready to dig in without getting buried? Stick around, let’s make your dreams happen!


Follow Us

2 responses to “Evo Grill Review – Is an Evo Flat Top Grill Worth the Money?”

  1. Rhona Avatar
    Rhona

    Your style is unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, I will bookmark this web site

    1. Elle Avatar

      Thanks Rhona! Looking forward to seeing you back here 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *